## Proclamation

## RECOGNIZING NATIONAL PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATIONS WEEK

Whereas, emergencies that require police officers, fire, or emergency medical services can occur at any time; and

*Whereas*, when an emergency occurs, the prompt response of police officers, firefighters, and paramedics is critical to the protection of life and preservation of property; and

Whereas, the safety of our police officers and firefighters is dependent upon the quality and accuracy of information obtained from citizens who telephone the Indian River County Sheriff's Office Dispatch Center; and

Whereas, Public Safety Dispatchers are the first and most critical contact our citizens have with emergency services and are a vital link for our police officers and firefighters by monitoring their activities, providing them with information, and ensuring their safety; and

*Whereas*, each dispatcher has exhibited compassion, understanding, and professionalism during the performance of their duties in the past year; and

Whereas, Indian River County Sheriff's Office Public Safety Dispatchers dispatched 171,232 calls for service for Law Enforcement and 35,936 calls for Fire Rescue in 2023; and

*Whereas*, Indian River County Sheriff's Office Public Safety Dispatchers answered 73,267 9-1-1 calls and 113,831 administrative calls; and

Whereas, Public Safety Dispatchers of the Indian River County Sheriff's Office have contributed substantially to the apprehension of criminals, suppression of crime, and treatment of patients, and they are knowledgeable and highly trained individuals who work closely with police, fire, and medical personnel.

Now, therefore, be it proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that the week of April 14 through April 20, 2024, be designated as National Public Safety Telecommunications Week in Indian River County, in honor of the men and women whose diligence and professionalism keep our county and citizens safe.

Adopted this 23 <sup>rd</sup> day o	of April, 2024.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA
		Susan Adams, Chairman
		Joseph E. Flescher, Vice Chairman
		Joseph H. Earman
		Deryl Loar
		Laura Moss

