Indian River County Florida



Draft Meeting Minutes

Solid Waste Disposal District

Board of Commissioners

Joseph H. Earman, District 3, Chairman Susan Adams, District 1, Vice Chairman Joseph Flescher, District 2 Deryl Loar, District 4 Laura Moss District 5 Indian River County Administration Complex 1801 27th Street, Building A Vero Beach, Florida, 32960-3388 www.ircgov.com

Tuesday, April 4, 2023	9:00 AM	Commission Chambers
	Shauna James, Deputy Clerk	
	Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller	
	Dylan Reingold, County Attorney	
	Michael C. Zito, Interim County Administrator	
	Laura Moss, District 5	
	Deryl Loar, District 4	
	Joseph Flescher, District 2	

15. SPECIAL DISTRICTS AND BOARDS

The Board of County Commissioners reconvened as the Board of Commissioners of the Solid Waste Disposal District. The minutes will be approved at an upcoming Solid Waste Disposal District meeting.

B. Solid Waste Disposal District

A motion was made by Commissioner Flescher, seconded by Vice Chairman Adams, to approve the Solid Waste Disposal District meeting minutes of January 31, 2023, and February 7, 2023, as written. The motion carried by the following vote: Aye: 5 -Chairman Earman, Vice Chairman Adams, Commissioner Flescher, Commissioner Loar, and Commissioner Moss 15.B.1. Solid Waste Disposal District Meeting Minutes of January 31, 2023 Approved 15.B.2. Solid Waste Disposal District Meeting Minutes of February 7, 2023 Approved 15.B.3. Solid Waste Assessment and Tipping Fee Rate Study Himanshu Mehta, Managing Director of the Solid Waste Disposal District (SWDD), explained that the SWDD receives revenue from tipping fees and special assessment fees and that the rate structure for those fees had not been updated since being established in the year 1995. A thorough study was conducted by installing scales on two Waste Management trucks to gather data from different sectors in the community. The purpose was to accurately determine the amount of waste generated. This waste generation data was utilized by Kessler Consulting, Inc. (KCI) to develop scenarios going forward for the next five (5) to ten (10)

years on how to we make some adjustments to the current fees.

Chas Jordan, Senior Consultant, KCI, presented background on the SWDD assessments, scope of project, methodology, data on waste generation, and recommendations. KCI's report recommended both increases and decreases which were more closely aligned with the amount of material applied from those properties being managed by the landfill. The study also considered the tipping fees for the materials coming to the landfill that was not being paid for by assessments. Mr. Jordan discussed several rates scenarios based on the study data. After analysis, staff recommended Option 5; implementation of recommended WGU rates to be applied over a three-year period. This would include a revision to the WGU's of 50 percent of the proposed change in FY 2024 and the remaining 50% of the change in FY 2027. This scenario also implemented the new proposed tipping fees as presented in Scenarios 2 and 3 with a 3% increase per year in tipping fee rates through the ten-year period. In this scenario the impacts of increasing the tipping fees positively impacts the reductions in revenue due to the WGU rate change and the fund would not go below the minimum fund balance threshold of 35% in the ten-year period.

A brief discussion ensued between the Board and Mr. Jordan regarding some of the increased fees on certain items such as tires, illegal dumping, and uncovered loads.

A motion was made by Commissioner Flescher, seconded by Commissioner Moss, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 5 Chairman Earman, Vice Chairman Adams, Commissioner Flescher, Commissioner Loar, and Commissioner Moss
- **15.B.4.**Approval of Engineering Consulting Services Agreement for IRC Landfill and
Work Order No. 1 to Geosyntec for Segment 3, Cell 3 Engineering Services

There was no discussion on this Item.

A motion was made by Commissioner Flescher, seconded by Vice Chairman Adams, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Chairman Earman, Vice Chairman Adams, Commissioner Flescher, Commissioner Loar, and Commissioner Moss