Proclamation

## RECOGNIZING THE EDUCATION FOUNDATION OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY

*Whereas,* the Education Foundation of Indian River County is a 501c(3) organization that supports school programs and services that increase educational outcomes for K-12 students, providing funding where it is otherwise limited and focusing on four main programs; and

*Whereas,* the Education Foundation's High Impact Grants program allows teachers to submit a "Letter of Idea" application that aligns with the SDIRC Strategic Plan and promotes academic achievement and student motivation, with measurable outcomes; and

*Whereas,* the Regional Science and Engineering Fair was created in 1992 to enable all local pupils to use their imaginations and explore their academic potential, competing against other students in the county and state to win awards and scholarships based on their efforts; and

*Whereas,* the Keeping the Promise program supports teacher recruitment and retention by providing relocation cost reimbursement for new educators in the district, including moving expenses, storage fees, utility deposits, and security deposits; and

*Whereas,* the STEP into Kindergarten program provides a summer session for incoming kindergarten students attending Title 1 schools in the fall, directly advancing Kindergarten readiness rates by preparing children for success in pre-reading, math, and social/emotional skills, and allowing a smooth transition into the learning environment.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that the Board hereby recognizes the Education Foundation for their significant accomplishments in elevating public education throughout our county and thereby expanding economic, political, and social opportunities for all; reducing unemployment, crime, and dependence on public assistance programs; raising tax revenue; and improving public health and civic engagement.

Adopted this 21st day of February, 2023.

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph H. Earman, Chairman

Susan Adams, Vice Chairperson

Joseph E. Flescher

Deryl Loar

Laura Moss