Proclamation

HONORING LIEUTENANT BRUCE WEIMANN UPON THE OCCASION OF HIS RETIREMENT FROM INDIAN RIVER COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES

Whereas, Lieutenant Bruce Weimann began his career with Indian River County Fire Rescue on February 8, 1991 when he was hired by the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Division as a Paramedic; and

Whereas, he was promoted to EMS Lieutenant in 1997 and with the consolidation of the Fire and EMS departments in 2006 he was reclassified as a Solo Paramedic; and,

Whereas, although not mandatory at the time, Bruce immediately began firefighter training and within a year was promoted to Firemedic; and,

Whereas, he progressed to Driver Engineer in 2016 and earned the rank of Lieutenant in 2021 in which capacity he served until his retirement on April 30, 2023; and,

Whereas, throughout his 32-year career, Bruce's humor, compassion and exemplary performance have been well documented within a personnel file filled with a multitude of letters and commendations from both the public and private sectors of our community, as well as from his co-workers and command staff; and,

Whereas, most of today's Fire Rescue leadership has at one time or another worked below or beside Bruce and credit him with being an exceptional mentor with a calm demeanor that inspired confidence in the face of chaos and superior EMS skills that supported life in the face of death; and,

Whereas, Indian River County Fire Rescue is grateful to Bruce for being one of the early pioneers in setting the bar for selfless service during and after a time of great interdepartmental change and most importantly, for embodying the true definition of "brother" within our fire family.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that the Board is grateful to Bruce Weimann for his thirty-two years of unwavering service, commitment and dedication to his profession, his peers, and the citizens of Indian River County.

Adopted this 18th Day of April 2023.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph H. Earman, Chairman