Proclamation

HONORING THE REVEREND ANDREW JEFFERSON

Whereas, Indian River County celebrates African American Pioneers who, through their service in the business, public, and elected arenas, have paved the way for this and future generations; and

Whereas, the Reverend Andrew Jefferson is a native son of Indian River County, husband to Ruth and father of Artrish and Andrevius, and pastor of St. Peter's Missionary Baptist Church in Gifford and Rock Church International in Fort Pierce; and

Whereas, Andrew matriculated through the Indian River County Schools system, culminating with a degree in Architectural Design from North Technical Trade Center; and

Whereas, Andrew subsequently heard his call to the ministry, received his Bachelor's Degree in Religious Education, and began pastoring at St. Peter's Missionary Baptist Church in 1991; and

Whereas, in 1996, Andrew's visionary passion for people inspired him to establish St. Peter's Human Services, Incorporated, with a mission to assist at-risk children, low income families, and elderly citizens of Indian River County; and

Whereas, Andrew then established St. Peter's Child Development Center and St. Peter's Academy, one of Indian River County's first Charter schools and the only predominately-minority school for at-risk children in Indian River County, one with a 24-year record of success; and

Whereas, Andrew brings a clear message and possesses a compassionate gift for ministering to the needs of his community – he is a man who lives what he preaches, and practices what he teaches.

Now, therefore, be it proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that the pioneer spirit and civic contributions of the Reverend Andrew Jefferson have greatly enriched Indian River County and the Treasure Coast, and that the Board extends its sincere thanks for his outstanding efforts.

Adopted this 7 th day of February, 2023.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA
	Joseph H. Earman, Chairman
	Susan Adams, Vice Chairman
	Joseph E. Flescher
	Deryl Loar
	Laura Moss