

Office of INDIAN RIVER COUNTY ATTORNEY

Jennifer W. Shuler, County Attorney Susan J. Prado, Deputy County Attorney Christopher A. Hicks, Assistant County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

TO: Board of County Commissioners

THROUGH: John Titkanich, Jr., County Administrator

FROM: Jennifer W. Shuler, County Attorney

DATE: February 26, 2025

SUBJECT: 2025 Committees Vacancies and Appointments

On January 14, 2025, and February 25, 2025, the Board reappointed a significant number of incumbent committee members to another term. This agenda item is to consider the appointment of new applicant(s) to committee vacancies. Committee vacancies have been advertised on the County's website. There are qualified applicants to be considered for appointment to the various committees' vacancies.

Affordable Housing Advisory Committee (AHAC) – There is one vacancy: "Citizen who is actively engaged as an advocate for low-income persons in connection with affordable housing".

- Wendy McDaniel Vocelle (Currently a member of CSAC-Grants Subcommittee. Per resume, works with United Against Poverty and has an interest in affordable housing.)
- Desiree Samuels-Schulz (No resume submitted. Per application, has a desire to advocate for low-income persons, but she doesn't demonstrate any experience.)

Agriculture Advisory Committee (AAC) – There are two vacancies: "Actively Involved in Agricultural Industry Representative" and "Farm Bureau Representative".

- No Qualified Applicants have applied
- No Applications Submitted

Board of County Commissioners

Re: 2025 Committees Vacancies and Appointments

February 26, 2025 – Page 2

Beach and Shore Preservation Advisory Committee (BSPAC) – There are two vacancies for: "BCC Appointee".

- Jeffrey E. Andros (Currently a member of CSAC.)
- Amy Donahue (No resume submitted.)
- Richard L. Harris
- Michael T. Korpar
- James E. Power

Children's Services Advisory Committee (**CSAC**) – There is one vacancy: "Member At Large".

- Jo Anne Barnhart
- Susan Curtis
- Brooke Hall
- Loren Hawkins
- Lalita Janke
- Michael C. Marsh (Currently a member of CSAC-Grants Subcommittee)
- Jeffery R. Powers
- Desiree Samuels-Schulz (No resume submitted.)
- Janet G. Sofield (currently a member of CSAC-Needs Subcommittee)
- Kathleen T. Sullivan (No resume submitted.)
- Rachel L. Toperzer (No resume submitted.)
- Jan Williams

Economic Development Council (EDC) – There are two vacancies: "Member At Large".

- Todd Howder (Not Reappointed at 02.25.2025 BCC meeting. Member since 01.22.2013. No resume.)
- Lalita Janke
- Lance Lunceford
- Vincent Sabia
- Karl Zimmerman (Not Reappointed at 02.25.2025 BCC meeting. Member since 01.22.2013)

Planning & Zoning Commission (**P&ZC**) – There are is a "Member At Large" vacancy.

• Richard A. Bettencourt (District 3 – No resume submitted.)

Board of County Commissioners

Re: 2025 Committees Vacancies and Appointments

February 26, 2025 – Page 3

- Todd Brognano (Not Reappointed at 02.25.2025 BCC meeting. Member since 02.01.2011. No resume.)
- Paul Golden (District 5 No resume submitted.)
- Lalita M. Janke (District 1)
- Thomas S. Lowther (District 3)
- Vincent Sabia (District 2)
- Diana E. Vocelle (District 4)

There are applicants who applied for the two vacant positions for "Citizen of Indian River County" on the Community Development Block Grant Citizen Advisory Task committee. Due to the eligibility being tied to income levels, the County Attorney Office will address this item under separate cover at a later date.

RECOMMENDATION

The County Attorney recommends that the Board review the applicants' résumés and applications and determine which applicants to appoint for the various committees.

ATTACHMENT

Applications and Resumes are viewable in the Board of County Commission Office.