Proclamation

RECOGNIZING THE MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION IN INDIAN RIVER COUNTY AND MAY 2023 AS MENTAL HEALTH MONTH "Look Around, Look Within"

Whereas, the Mental Health Association is a (501c3) nonprofit corporation that provides a full range of mental health services, including screening, ongoing therapy, crisis intervention, case management, psychological testing, and psychiatric services at the Walk-In & Counseling Center in Vero Beach; and

Whereas, the mission of the Mental Health Association is to provide immediate access, with no barriers to mental health care at no cost for Indian River County residents; and

Whereas, in the last fiscal year, the Mental Health Association provided 918 walk-in mental health screenings, served 3013 students through the Erika's Lighthouse program in the School District of Indian River County, and completed 76 support groups for Veterans & First Responders; and

Whereas, the Mental Health Association operates three peer-run Drop-In Centers, one of which is in Vero Beach, that provides a safe haven for adults with severe, and persistent mental illness, crisis intervention services, consultations with loved ones or family members, provides immediate and long-term treatment options as well as suggestions to ease symptoms and improve functioning; and

Whereas, if you or someone you love needs help, the Mental Health Association in Indian River County will provide immediate access to mental health professionals through screening, assessment, and consultation for emotional and behavioral concerns.

Therefore, be it proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that the Board recognizes the Mental Health Association in Indian River County for their continued commitment to providing residents of Indian River County with timely mental health services, and proclaim May 2023 as **Mental Health Awareness Month**.

Adopted this 2nd day of May, 2023.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph H. Earman, Chairman

Susan Adams, Vice Chairman

Joseph E. Flescher

Deryl Loar

Laura Moss