

William K. DeBraal, County Attorney Susan J. Prado, Deputy County Attorney K. Keith Jackman, Assistant County Attorney

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Indian River County Board of County Commissioners
THROUGH:	John A. Titkanich, Jr., County Administrator
FROM:	William K. DeBraal, County Attorney
DATE:	December 26, 2023
SUBJECT:	Opioid Class Action Lawsuit Settlement Fund Allocation

At its meeting on December 12, 2023, the Indian River County Board of County Commissioners (Board) considered recommendations made by the Public Safety Council for Criminal Justice, Mental Health and Substance Abuse ("Council") for allocations from opioid class action law suit settlement funds to local entities for opioid related abatement and treatment. After discussing the Council's recommendations, the Board decided to table the matter until its meeting on January 9, 2024 and invite the five local entities who were recommended for funding allocations to the meeting to make a brief presentation to the Board, answer any questions and provide backup material to the Board concerning their plans for spending the funds. The five entities are: Indian River County Sheriff, Substance Awareness Center, IRC Mental Health Collaborative, 19th Judicial Circuit Drug Court and Treasure Coast Homeless Council. The attached letter was sent to all of the five entities. The staff report from the December 12, 2023 Board meeting is also attached to this memorandum.

FUNDING. Upon the Board of County Commissioners approving a spending plan, a budget amendment will be submitted allocating the funds.

RECOMMENDATION. The County Attorney's Office recommends that the Indian River County Board of County Commissioners discuss the recommended allotments made by the Public Safety Council for Criminal Justice, Mental Health and Substance Abuse and adopt the authorizing Resolution and authorize the Chairman to execute the Resolution on behalf of the Board.

Attachments: Resolution Approving Allocations Staff Report from Board Meeting of 12/12/2023 Letter to Applicants

Copies sent by email to:

Jill S. Amos jamos@sacirc.org Miranda Swanson miranda.swanson@flhealth.gov Angela Rosado Jones ajones@ircsheriff.org Rayme Nuckles rayme@tchelpspot.org Wes Samons wsamons@mhcollaborative.net Hon. Charles A. Schwab schwabc@circuit19.org Amanda Busbin amanda.busbin@sefbhn.org Carrie Maynard-Lester cmaynard@sacirc.org