RESOLUTION 2021-

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, APPROVING A TEMPORARY POLICY SUPPLEMENT FOR THE EMERGENCY HOUSING VOUCHER PROGRAM

WHEREAS, the Indian River County Rental Assistance Program (Rental Assistance) administers the County's Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) and Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH) programs offered by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD); and

WHEREAS, on July 13, 2021, the Board of County Commissioners approved a Memorandum of Understanding between the County's Rental Assistance Program and the Treasure Coast Homeless Services Council, Inc. for participation in the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARP) for new Emergency Housing Vouchers (EHV).

WHEREAS, HUD, through the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, has issued Rental Assistance thirty-four (34) Emergency Housing Vouchers; and

WHEREAS, the Rental Assistance HCV-VASH Voucher program has accepted these additional vouchers for the needs of the (1) homeless, (2) at risk of homelessness; (3) fleeing, or attempting to flee, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking or human trafficking; or (4) recently homeless and for whom providing rental assistance will prevent the family's homelessness or having high risk of housing instability; and

WHEREAS, the Rental Assistance Department HCV-VASH Voucher program is committed to serving the residents of Indian River County and will administer these temporary EHV vouchers for the intended purpose and will comply with the Temporary Policy Supplement; and

WHEREAS, the Indian River County Board of County Commissioners Rental Assistance Temporary Policy Supplement for EHVs will take effect as of July 1, 2021; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

1. The Indian River County Board of County Commissioners approves the Emergency Housing Voucher Temporary Policy Supplement effective as of July 1, 2021.

The foregoing Resolution was offered by Commissioner \_\_\_\_\_\_ and seconded by Commissioner \_\_\_\_\_\_, and, upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Chairman Joseph Fletcher	
Vice Chairman Peter D. O'Bryan	
Commissioner Susan Adams	
Commissioner Joe Earman	
Commissioner Laura Moss	

The Chairman thereupon declared the Resolution duly passed and adopted this 17<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2021.

Attest: Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of Court and Comptroller

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

By\_

Deputy Clerk

By \_\_\_\_\_ Joseph Flescher, Chairman

Approved:

Jason Brown County Administrator

Approved as to form and legal sufficiency:

William K. DeBraal Deputy County Attorney