

Indian River County Florida

Meeting Minutes 4 - Draft

Indian River County
Administration Complex
1801 27th Street, Building
A
Vero Beach, Florida,
32960-3388

www.ircgov.com

Board of County Commissioners

Chairman Susan Adams
Vice Chairman Joseph E. Flescher
Commissioner Tim Zorc
Commissioner Peter D. O'Bryan
Commissioner Bob Solari

Jason E. Brown, County Administrator

Dylan Reingold, County Attorney

Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller

Tuesday, July 7, 2020 9:00 AM Commission Chambers

This meeting can be attended virtually by accessing YouTube Live. Instructions can be found included with this agenda and also online at www.ircgov.com.

B. Solid Waste Disposal District

The Board of County Commissioners reconvened as the Board of Commissioners of the Solid Waste Disposal District. The minutes will be approved at an upcoming Solid Waste Disposal District meeting.

A motion was made by Commissioner Solari, seconded by Commissioner Zorc, to approve the Solid Waste Disposal District meeting minutes of March 3, 2020, April 7, 2020, April 21, 2020, and May 5, 2020 as written. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Chairman Adams, Vice Chairman Flescher, Commissioner Zorc, Commissioner O'Bryan, and Commissioner Solari

15.B.1.	Approval of Minutes Meeting March 03, 2	.020

Approved

15.B.2. Approval of Minutes Meeting April 07, 2020

Approved

15.B.3. Approval of Minutes Meeting April 21, 2020

Approved

15.B.4. Approval of Minutes Meeting May 05, 2020

Approved

15.B.5. CCNA-2018 Amendment No. 1 to Work Order No. 32 to Kimley-Horn for

Indian River County Florida Page 1

SWDD Household Hazardous Waste and Recycling Facility Design, Permitting and Bidding Services

Himanshu Mehta, Managing Director of the Solid Waste Disposal District (SWDD), appeared before the Board to present the conceptual design for a new Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) and Recycling Facility. His presentation showed photos of the existing facility, and contrasted it with images of Brevard County's newly renovated HHW facility. Director Mehta continued with renderings of the proposed design, as well as cost and timing estimates. He sought the Board's approval of costs related to the next phase of development.

Commissioner O'Bryan received information on maintenance costs for the planned HHW facility.

A motion was made by Commissioner O'Bryan, seconded by Vice Chairman Flescher, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Chairman Adams, Vice Chairman Flescher, Commissioner Zorc, Commissioner O'Bryan, and Commissioner Solari

15.B.6. Solid Waste Disposal Rate Survey

Himanshu Mehta, Managing Director of the Solid Waste Disposal District (SWDD), presented the results of Kessler Consulting, Inc.'s (KCI) Solid Waste Disposal Rate survey. He explained that SWDD received revenue from tipping fees and special assessment fees, and that the rate structure for those fees had not been updated since being established in 1995.

Director Mehta continued his presentation using PowerPoint slides to illustrate the key observations from the KCI survey, which compared tipping fees across similarly-sized counties. He noted that the special assessment fees would be reviewed at a later date. Based on their findings, KCI recommended increases to the fees for yard waste materials and out-of-county customers. Director Mehta suggested postponing changes to the tipping fees until a full rate evaluation, including special assessment fees, was done. He then requested that the Board direct staff to return with a proposal for a full solid waste rate analysis.

The Commissioners entered into discussion, voicing their concerns on topics including the County's concrete crushing service, concerns over yard waste dumping and its possible environmental effect, and discussion of a volume-based rate structure to differentiate between homeowners and commercial users.

A motion was made by Commissioner O'Bryan, seconded by Commissioner Solari, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Chairman Adams, Vice Chairman Flescher, Commissioner Zorc, Commissioner O'Bryan, and Commissioner Solari

Indian River County Florida Page 2