PROCLAMATION HONORING ERIC J. SEYMOUR

WHEREAS, Indian River County celebrates African American Pioneers who, through their service in the business, public, and elected arenas, have paved the way for this and future generations; and

WHEREAS, Eric J. Seymour, a native son of Vero Beach and graduate of Vero Beach High School and Delaware State University, is an accomplished scholar and athlete; and

WHEREAS, Eric started his administrative career as Assistant Principal and Adult Education Counselor at Vero Beach High School, progressing to Assistant Principal at Lincoln Park Academy and subsequent recognition as the State of Florida's 2003 Assistant Principal of the Year; and

WHEREAS, as a Principal, Eric oversaw the conversion of Northport Middle to a K-8 school, and then led Vero Beach High School to its first-ever Florida Department of Education "A" rating; and

WHEREAS, Eric currently serves as the Attendance Specialist for the School District of Indian River County and director of *Hear My Story*, a motivational speaker program sharing true life stories that inspire struggling students to grow and learn; and

WHEREAS, Eric is a multi-year member of an Education Committee chaired by Congressman Bill Posey and tasked with developing strategies to improve student achievement and overall school performance; and

WHEREAS, Eric has served as an Executive Board Member of the Saint Lucie County United Way and Chamber of Commerce and as a longtime member of the National Association of Secondary School Administrators, where he earned his keen reputation as a proactive problem-solver.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the pioneer spirit and civic contributions of Eric J. Seymour have greatly enriched Indian River County and the Treasure Coast, and that the Board extends its sincere thanks for his outstanding efforts.

Adopted this 11th day of February, 2020.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Susan Adams, Chairman

Joseph E. Flescher, Vice Chairman

Tim Zorc

Peter D. O'Bryan

Bob Solari