PROCLAMATION

RECOGNIZING ZETA PHI BETA SORORITY, INC., ON THE OCCASION OF THEIR CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION

WHEREAS, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., is an international, community-conscious, action-oriented service organization founded on January 16, 1920, at Howard University in Washington D.C.; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority was created through the encouragement of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., thus becoming the first constitutionally-bound, Greek letter sister-and-brother organizations; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority has five founders: Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority's principles are scholarship, service, sisterhood, and finer womanhood; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority has chartered hundreds of chapters worldwide, boasts a membership of more than 100,000, and offers programs within the community to help people improve their minds, bodies, and spirits through its Zetas Helping Other People Excel ("Z-Hope") initiative; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority has five national auxiliaries -- Pearlettes, Amicettes, Archonettes, Amicae, and Zeta Male Network -- who support the sorority's goals and principles; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority's chapters and auxiliaries volunteer countless hours to educate the public, assist youth, provide scholarships, support charities, and promote legislation for social and civic change; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority, with over 200 professional and community engagement-oriented women in Indian River, Palm Beach, St. Lucie, and Hendry Counties, has proven to be a dedicated community partner for positive change; and

WHEREAS, the Sorority is celebrating its centennial and, guided by its founding principles, continues to work tirelessly in providing critical services and support to our communities in Indian River County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the Board congratulates Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., on its centennial celebration and thanks the Sorority for its everlasting commitment to serving, empowering, and uplifting our residents.

Adopted this 14th day of January, 2020.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Susan Adams, Chairman
Joseph E. Flescher, Vice Chairman
Tim Zorc
Peter O'Bryan
Bob Solari