PROCLAMATION

DESIGNATING THE WEEK OF MAY 5 - 11, 2019, AS National Correctional Officers and Employees Week

WHEREAS, in 1984, President Ronald Reagan signed Proclamation 5187 creating "National Correctional Officers Week". In 1996, the U.S. Senate officially changed the name of the week to "National Correctional Officers and Employees Week". The first full week in May is recognized as National Correctional Officers and Employees Week to honor the work of correctional officers and correctional personnel nationwide. National Correctional Officers and Employees Week has been declared as May 5 - 11, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Indian River County's staff of Correctional Officers, Nurses, Civilian Correction Assistants, and support staff serve in an increasingly complex and demanding profession, and work in a correctional environment where they are called upon to fill simultaneously custodial, supervisory, and counseling roles. They are responsible for the custody, safety, and well-being of the inmates within Indian River County; and

WHEREAS, in today's profession, Correctional Officers and correctional personnel are well trained, work under demanding circumstances and face danger in their daily lives; and

WHEREAS, the work of Correctional Officers and correctional personnel comes with a huge responsibility to maintain public safety as well as to help inmates develop the skills necessary to become productive members of society; and

WHEREAS, Correctional Officers and correctional personnel deserve our show of support, as we utilize this week to honor their hard work, professionalism, dedication, and courage throughout the performance of their demanding and often conflicting roles, and efforts to protect public safety.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that the week of May 5 - 11, 2019, be designated as National Correctional Officers and Employees Week.

Adopted this 7th day of May, 2019.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Bob Solari, Chairman
Susan Adams, Vice Chairman
Peter D. O'Bryan
Joseph E. Flescher
Tim Zorc