## **RESOLUTION NO. 2003-127**

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, RESTRUCTURING THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL.

WHEREAS, by Resolution 93-175, the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, created an Economic Development Council; and

WHEREAS, it is the will of the Board of County Commissioners to restructure the composition of the Economic Development Council in light of recent ordinance changes that have recently occurred;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that:

#### 1. ESTABLISHMENT.

The Economic Development Council is hereby reestablished and restructured. This resolution repeals and replaces Resolutions 2000-125 and 93-175.

#### 2. MEMBERSHIP.

The Economic Development Council shall have nineteen voting members. Members must be residents of Indian River County with membership as follows:

- a. A representative from the City of Vero Beach City Council,
- b. A representative from the City of Sebastian City Council,
- c. A representative from the City of Fellsmere City Council,
- d. A representative from the School Board Indian River County,
- e. A representative appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
- f. A representative from the Indian River County Chamber of Commerce,
- g. A representative from the Sebastian River Area Chamber of Commerce,
- h. A representative from local industry,
- i. A representative from the local tourist industry,
- j. A representative from the local citrus industry,
- k. A representative from a local developer,

F:\Attorney\Bill\Dictation\Committees\economic development.doc

## **RESOLUTION NO. 2003-127**

- I. A representative from the real estate industry,
- m. A representative from the Gifford community,
- n. A representative from the various local civic organizations,
- o. A representative from the local banking industry,
- p. A representative from the Manufacturing Task Force,
- q. Three members from the county at-large appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.

#### 3. POWERS AND DUTIES.

The Indian River County Economic Development Council shall be responsible for providing advice to the Board of County Commissioners on the direction of all Indian River County's activities. The Council shall meet on a regular basis with staff assistance provided by the Community Development Department. The Economic Development Council shall also provide information and advice on implementing the adopted overall economic development plan of Indian River County.

## 4. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

The provisions of Title 1, Chapter 103, relating to the advisory boards and commissions shall apply to this Council. The Council shall elect from among its voting members a chairman and a vice chairman annually at its first meeting in January, or at its next meeting if no meeting is held in January. A County Commissioner shall serve as a non-voting liaison to the Council. Each chair and vice chair shall serve for a one-year term and may be reelected but shall be limited to two successive annual terms, at which point they would be ineligible to chair the Council for at least one year.

### 5. ADVISORY STATUS.

The Economic Development Council shall be advisory only and the members shall serve without compensation.

#### 6. MEETINGS.

A meeting may be called at the request of either staff, a liaison commissioner, or the chair of the Committee. The agenda for each meeting shall be established by the chairman in coordination with the liaison and County staff. The chairman, Committee member, or staff may place matters on the agenda. Any Committee member may make an oral or written report on committee activity at a subsequent Board of County Commissioners meeting under its liaison "Commissioners Items."

## **RESOLUTION NO. 2003-127**

# 7. CONSULTANT/VENDOR CONTACT.

The chair or individual Committee members are prohibited from contacting consultants or vendors retained by the County.

The resolution was moved for adoption by Commissioner Fran B. Adams, and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Caroline D. Ginn, and, upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Chairman Kenneth R. Macht

Aye

Vice Chairman Caroline D. Ginn Aye

Commissioner Arthur R. Neuberger Aye

Commissioner Thomas B. Lowther Aye

Commissioner Fran B. Adams Aye

The Chairman thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 21st day of October, 2003.

Attest: J. K. Barton, Clerk

Deputy Clerk

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY

Board of County Commissioners

Kenneth R. Macht, Chairman

Approved for form and Jegal

sufficiency:

William K. DeBraal

Assistant County Attorney

BCC approval date October 21, 2003