PROCLAMATION RECOGNIZING NATIONAL PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATIONS WEEK

WHEREAS, emergencies can occur at any time that require police, fire, or emergency medical services; and when an emergency occurs, the prompt response of police officers, firefighters, and paramedics is critical to the protection of life and preservation of property; and

WHEREAS, the safety of our police officers and firefighters is dependent upon the quality and accuracy of information obtained from citizens who telephone the Indian River County Sheriff's Office Dispatch Center. Public Safety Dispatchers are the first and most critical contact our citizens have with emergency services; and

WHEREAS, Public Safety Dispatchers are a vital link for our police officers and firefighters by monitoring their activities, providing them with information, and ensuring their safety; and

WHEREAS, Public Safety Dispatchers of the Indian River County Sheriff's Office have contributed substantially to the apprehension of criminals, suppression of crime, and treatment of patients. They are knowledgeable and highly trained individuals who work closely with police, fire, and medical personnel; and

WHEREAS, Indian River County Sheriff's Office Public Safety Dispatchers dispatched 263,234 calls for service for Law Enforcement and 29,649 calls for Fire Rescue in 2017; and answering 61,576 9-1-1 calls and 79,118 administrative calls: and

WHEREAS, each year, the second full week of April is dedicated to the men and women who serve as public safety telecommunicators.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that the week of April 8 through April 14, 2018, be designated as **National Public Safety Telecommunications Week** in Indian River County, in honor of the men and women whose diligence and professionalism keep our county and citizens safe.

Adopted this 10th day of April, 2018.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA
	Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman
	Bob Solari, Vice-Chairman
	Susan Adams
	Joseph E. Flescher
	Tim Zorc