PROCLAMATION

Designating the Week of May 21st – May 27st 2017, as Emergency Medical Services Week

WHEREAS, President Gerald Ford signed the first National EMS Week proclamation in 1974 to draw attention to the sacrifice, dedication, and commitment of Emergency Medical Personnel by officially recognizing their roles in our communities as a vital public service; and,

WHEREAS, the members of emergency medical services teams are ready to provide lifesaving care to those in need, 24 hours a day, seven days a week; and,

WHEREAS, access to quality emergency care dramatically improves the survival and recovery rate of those who experience sudden illness or injury; and,

WHEREAS, the emergency medical services system of Indian River County consists of first responders, emergency medical technicians, paramedics, firefighters, educators, administrators, emergency nurses, emergency physicians, and many others dedicated to the field; and,

WHEREAS, the members of emergency medical services teams, whether career or volunteer, engage in thousands of hours of specialized training and continuing education to enhance their lifesaving skills; and,

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the value and the accomplishments of Indian River County's emergency medical service providers, and remind all citizens of their tremendous contributions to our quality of life here in Indian River County and throughout the country.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE INDIAN RIVER COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS that we do hereby designate May 21st through May 27th, 2017, as Emergency Medical Services Week. This year's theme, **EMS Strong: Always in Service**, captures the spirit and devotion of our providers, and we encourage the community to recognize our teams by observing this week with appropriate respect and gratitude. We ask all Indian River County residents to honor this occasion by sharing their own strength with our local EMS providers, and by taking steps to improve individual personal safety and preparedness.

Adopted this 9th day of May, 2017

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Peter D. O'Bryan, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Bob Solari

Tim Zorc