PROCLAMATION HONORING GAIL KAVANAGH

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh served as Executive Vice President of Treasure Coast Builders Association from 1979 to 2011 (32 years); and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh was appointed as the St. Lucie County Commissioner to the Florida Inland Navigation District (FIND) from 2008 to 2015 serving as Chair in 2014; and,

WHEREAS, in 1981, **Gail Kavanagh** received the Seldon Hale Award by the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) for Outstanding New Association Executive, and in 1996 received the Career Achievement as an Association Executive, the only Executive Officer in the country to earn both designations; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh served on NAHB Executive Officers Council from 1989 until 1992 and as President in 1991 and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh received the Florida Home Builders Association (FHBA) Executive Officer of the Year in 1992; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh served as a Board Member for the United Way in St. Lucie County from 2002 until 2010; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh served as Past Treasurer of Ft. Pierce Main Street Association; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh served on the 19th Judicial Nominating Committee to select judges from 1995 until 1999; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh was appointed by Governor Bush to the St. Lucie County Expressway and Bridge Authority from 2001 until 2004; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh was appointed to the St. Lucie County High Speed Rail committee and Ft. Pierce Harbor Advisory Board by the St. Lucie County Commission from 2000 until 2006; and,

WHEREAS, Gail Kavanagh currently serves as a Board Member of Big Brothers, Big Sisters of St. Lucie, Okeechobee and Indian River Counties since 2006, and served as Chairman in 2009.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that the Board expresses its deep appreciation for the services performed by Gail Kavanagh and recognize her lifetime dedication to the community.

Adopted this 11th day of April, 2017.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Peter D. O'Bryan, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Bob Solari

Tim Zorc