## PROCLAMATION

## DESIGNATING THE WEEK OF MARCH 18 THROUGH 24, 2018, AS NATIONAL SURVEYORS WEEK

**WHEREAS**, land surveyors are counted among the founding leaders of our county and were instrumental in the formation of the layout of property boundaries in the United States, providing our citizens the opportunity to enjoy the American dream of property ownership; and,

**WHEREAS**, United States Presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, and Abraham Lincoln all served as surveyors, contributing to the historical mapping of America in its early years; and,

**WHEREAS**, the surveying profession requires special education, training, the knowledge of mathematics, the related physical and applied sciences, and requirements of law for evidence; and,

**WHEREAS**, surveyors are uniquely qualified and licensed to determine and describe land and water boundaries for the management of natural resources and protection of private and public property rights; and,

**WHEREAS**, the continual advancements in instrumentation have required the surveyor to not only be able to understand and implement the methods of the past, but also to learn and employ modern technology in finding solutions to meet the challenges of time; and,

**WHEREAS**, the citizens of Indian River County recognize the valuable contributions of the surveying profession to history, development, and quality of life throughout our country, and make important decisions based on the knowledge and expertise of licensed surveyors and mappers.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that the week of March 18 through 24, 2018, be designated as "NATIONAL SURVEYORS WEEK" in Indian River County, and the Board encourages all citizens to recognize the many contributions and the ongoing dedication of surveyors to our community and throughout the United States.

Adopted this 20th day of March, 2018.

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman

Bob Solari, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph E. Flescher

Tim Zorc