PROCLAMATION HONORING 2-1-1 HELPLINE'S 50 YEARS OF SERVICE TO INDIAN RIVER COUNTY

WHEREAS, 2-1-1 HelpLine is a free, trusted, and confidential lifeline for people of all ages who are struggling or feeling overwhelmed and don't know where to turn for help, responding to over 3 million requests for assistance since 1971; and

WHEREAS, 2-1-1 HelpLine is a central, around-the-clock access point, available via telephone or text message, and providing individuals and families with crisis support, suicide risk reduction, and comprehensive guidance in finding community resources and services; and

WHEREAS, 2-1-1 HelpLine's highly-trained staff handled nearly 4,000 requests for help from Indian River County residents during its most-recent fiscal year, including over 1,700 residents who requested help with their mental health or addictions, and over 100 who were suicidal or had suicide concerns; and

WHEREAS, inquires to the 2-1-1 HelpLine and website have doubled – and at points tripled – from years past due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with suicide-related contacts especially increasing; and

WHEREAS, 2-1-1 HelpLine provides programming to support our most vulnerable residents, proudly proclaiming "help starts here" in times of personal struggle or disaster when no one else can answer the call; and

WHEREAS, 2-1-1 HelpLine is the regional responder for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (1-800-273-TALK), working 24 hours a day to prevent loss of life by suicide and averaging 126 mental health crisis contacts and 10 suicide concern calls daily.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that 2-1-1 HelpLine is congratulated for 50 years of wonderful service, particularly in the area of front-line suicide prevention, and that the Board calls on all citizens to remember the only telephone number they need to access information on 1,600 agency providers with wide-ranging programs and services throughout our area.

Adopted this 21st day of September, 2021.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Peter D. O'Bryan, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph H. Earman

Laura Moss