INDIAN RIVER COUNTY OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET PURCHASING DIVISION

DATE: October 20, 2023

TO: BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

THROUGH: John A. Titkanich, Jr., County Administrator

Kristin Daniels, Director, Office of Management and Budget

Jennifer Hyde, Purchasing Manager

FROM: Shelby Ball, Purchasing Specialist

SUBJECT: Final Ranking of Firms and Authorization to Negotiate – RFQ 2023062 for

Continuing Architectural Consulting Services

BACKGROUND:

The current professional continuing architectural consulting services agreements expire on November 12, 2023. In accordance with section 287.055, Florida Statute (Consultants Competitive Negotiation Act), a request for qualifications (RFQ) was issued on July 11, 2023, to solicit statements of qualifications (SOQs) from professional architecture firms interested in providing services under a new continuing agreement.

ANALYSIS:

Nearly eight hundred firms were notified of the RFQ, and 10 firms submitted SOQs prior to the August 11, 2023 deadline. One firm, BEA Architects, was declared non-responsive for failure to submit the notarized statement regarding disclosure of relationships, required in Section 105.08, Indian River County Code, and their SOQ was not considered.

A selection committee, comprised of Kirstin Leiendecker, Assistant Public Works Director, David Rattray, Fire Chief, Rich Szpyrka, Former Public Works Director, Beth Powell, Parks, Recreation & Conservation Director, and Ron Jones, SWDD Assistant Managing Director, independently reviewed, scored, and ranked the received SOQs in accordance with FS 287.055, the RFQ, and the Purchasing Manual.

The committee met to reveal the individual committee member ranking, and establish an initial ranking of firms. The committee subsequently met to discuss the number of firms that should be awarded, based on the scores and rankings, and developed a short list of firms to be considered for award. Chapter 287.055, Florida Statute requires the County to hold discussions with a minimum of three firms. The committee identified four firms they wished to obtain more information from, and those firms participated in discussions via Zoom on October 19-20, 2023.

Scoring and ranking documents are available for review in the Purchasing Division.

Initial ranking of firms is shown below:

1	CPZ Architects*
2	Spiezle Architecture Group*
3	CPH*
4	Edlund, Dritenbas, Binkley Architects & Associates*
5	Dewberry Architects
6	Ohlson Lavoie Corporation
7	Architecture Design Collaborative
8	Ritacco & Chan Architecture Group
9	West Architecture + Design

^{*} indicates firms invited to participate in discussions with the committee

After the discussions were completed, the committee reviewed the short list ranking of firms. No changes to the rankings, or to the list of firms to be considered for award, were made. The initial ranking of firms was declared final. The committee recommended award to the top 4 ranked firms.

Staff is prepared to begin negotiations with the identified firms, and bring the final agreements to the Board at a future meeting.

FUNDING:

Funding for work orders under the agreements will vary, based on project and department.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends the Board approve the final ranking of firms, and authorize negotiations with the recommended firms, in accordance with FS 287.055.