## Proclamation

## DESIGNATING APRIL 1 THROUGH APRIL 30, 2025, AS WATER CONSERVATION MONTH IN INDIAN RIVER COUNTY

Whereas, water is a basic and essential need of every citizen within Indian River County; and

*Whereas,* the State of Florida, Water Management Districts and Indian River County are working together to increase awareness about the importance of water conservation; and

*Whereas,* the month of April is typically a dry month when water demands are more severe, creating more stress on water resources throughout the state; and,

*Whereas,* Indian River County and the State of Florida recognize the importance of educating citizens about how they can help save and preserve Florida's precious water resources; and encourages and supports water conservation, through various educational programs; and,

*Whereas,* Indian River County encourages water conservation tips, like using car washes that recycle water, rather than using the hose; or consider xeriscape landscapes that incorporates water-wise ground cover, succulents, and other plants that thrive in drought conditions; and,

*Whereas,* every business, industry, school, and citizen can make a difference when it comes to conserving water; and,

*Whereas,* every business, industry, school, and citizen can help by saving water and thus promote a healthy economy and community; and,

*Whereas,* Indian River County is calling upon each citizen and business to help protect our precious resource by practicing water-saving measures and becoming more aware of the need to save water.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian *River County, Florida*, that the month of April 2025, be designated as **WATER CONSERVATION MONTH** in Indian River County, and all citizens are encouraged to use this occasion to increase their awareness of the importance of water conservation and the need to use water more efficiently.

Adopted this 8th day of April 2025.

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Deryl Loar, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph H. Earman

Laura Moss