Proclamation

## DESIGNATING OCTOBER 2024, AS MANUFACTURING MONTH IN INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

*Whereas,* the National Manufacturing Institute has designated October 4, 2024 as National Manufacturing Day, a kick-off to Manufacturing Month, recognizing the manufacturing industry as vital to the economic health of our County, the State of Florida, and our entire country; and

*Whereas,* manufacturing is one of the cornerstones of our local economy, helping to sustain our quality of life while fostering a solid and diversified tax base in Indian River County; and

*Whereas,* Manufacturing Month is an tremendous opportunity to shift perceptions in a positive direction regarding this industry, while diversifying and bolstering our local economy; and

*Whereas,* manufacturing provides 2,700 high-wage and high-skill jobs in Indian River County, with 146 manufacturing firms paying an average annual wage of \$60,070, higher than our current average wage of \$54,317; this equates to over \$162 million in paychecks circulating throughout our local economy each year by the manufacturing industry alone; and

*Whereas,* we join the Indian River County Chamber of Commerce, the Treasure Coast Manufacturers Association, our School District, our business community, and many volunteers in supporting our Manufacturing Bootcamp program, which introduces high school students and young adults to potential careers in manufacturing thus strengthening our workforce pipeline; and

*Whereas,* all residents are encouraged to take time to acknowledge Indian River County manufacturers, and their employees, for the positive economic impact they have in our county, the State of Florida, and our nation.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida that the month of October 2024, be designated as MANUFACTURING MONTH IN INDIAN RIVER COUNTY.

Adopted this 8th day of October 2024.

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Susan Adams, Chairman

Joseph E. Flescher, Vice-Chairman

Joseph H. Earman

Deryl Loar

Laura Moss