PROCLAMATION DESIGNATING THE MONTH OF APRIL, 2020 AS CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION MONTH

WHEREAS, child abuse and neglect is a serious and growing problem affecting more than 3.2 million of our nation's children annually and over 3,500 children locally; and

WHEREAS, the abuse and neglect of children can cause severe, costly and lifelong problems, including physical and mental health problems, school failure and criminal behavior, which affects all of society; and

WHEREAS, increased public awareness of the devastating problem of child abuse and neglect is our strongest weapon in the fight to end it; and

WHEREAS, community organizations such as all the Exchange Clubs in Indian River County, the Exchange Club of Indian River, the Exchange Club of the Treasure Coast, the Exchange Club of Vero Beach, the Exchange Club of Fellsmere and the Exchange Club of Sebastian, and other organizations who make children a top priority take action to support the physical, social, emotional, and educational development and competency of all children; and

WHEREAS, during the month of April, Prevent Child Abuse Florida in collaboration with the Governor's Office of Adoption and Child Protection, the Florida Department of Children and Families, and the Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida, will implement Pinwheels for Prevention, a statewide campaign promoting awareness of healthy child development and positive parenting practices. The National Exchange Club will honor all children by wearing blue on Mondays during the month of April.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE INDIAN RIVER COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, that the month of April, 2020, be designated as CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION MONTH in Indian River County, and all residents are urged to engage in activities whose purpose is to strengthen families and communities to provide the optimal environment for healthy child development.

Adopted this 7th day of April, 2020.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Susan Adams, Chairman

Joseph E. Flescher, Vice Chairman

Peter D. O'Bryan

Bob Solari

Tim Zorc