Proclamation

RECOGNIZING AFRICAN AMERICAN PIONEER IN EDUCATION DR. DEBORAH A. TAYLOR-LONG

Whereas, Dr. Deborah A. Taylor-Long was born and raised in Indian River County, the community of Gifford; she is the mother of two children Gretchen and Grayson Long and is a life-long resident of Indian River County and is passionate about ensuring every student whose lives she has been blessed to touch have equal opportunity to excel in the education arena in which she has worked over 35+ years towards making sure there is equity in the education system of Indian River County; and

Whereas, Dr. Deborah A. Taylor-Long is a faithful member and proud supporter of her house of worship, Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church where she held past offices, and now fulfills a roll as a faithful choir member; and

Whereas, Dr. Deborah A. Taylor-Long works throughout Indian River County as an Educator, serving on several boards which directly impacts the lives and education of the youths of Indian River County and plays an instrumental role serving on several committees in leadership and advisory capacities, working towards steering her peers and community in the direction of Expanding and Providing opportunities for children; and

Whereas, Dr. Deborah A. Taylor-Long is the Gifford Youth Achievement Center Board of Directors – current Chairperson, Advisory Board Member of The Big Brothers Big Sisters of Indian River County, Founding Board Member of Gifford Legal Services Clinic, Board Member for D5 Alive, a member of the Children's Services Advisory Committee, and a life member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian *River County, Florida*, we commend Dr. Deborah A. Taylor Long and recognize her outstanding achievements. She is a pillar of our community and has greatly enriched the lives of countless citizens especially our youths.

Adopted this 11th day of February 2025.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Deryl Loar, Vice Chairman

Joseph H. Earman

Susan Adams

Laura Moss