## PROCLAMATION

## HONORING THE 2024-2025 INDIAN RIVER COUNTY FIRE RESCUE LIEUTENANT, SERGEANT, ENGINEER, FIREMEDIC, AND UNIT OF THE YEAR

Whereas, on December 17, 1923, local volunteers established the first fire department in Indian River County; and

*Whereas,* over the course of the past century, the department transitioned from volunteer to career personnel; from a department crewed solely by trained Firefighters to today's crews who are dual certified in firefighting and emergency medical response as well as being trained in a multitude of specialized disaster response scenarios on both land and sea; and

*Whereas,* in 2021, the leadership of Indian River County Fire Rescue reinstituted the long-standing tradition of annually recognizing those among their ranks who perform their duties in a manner that: exemplifies a competency reflecting the highest of standards; supports fellow Fire medics in achieving their goals; supports the department's policies and regularly demonstrates the ability to lead or follow based upon the existing circumstances; and

*Whereas,* Indian River County Fire Rescue is proud to announce the award recipients for 2024-2025:

- Fire Medic of the Year: Chandler Legleitner
- **Rescue Sergeant of the Year:** Marcus Robinson
- Engineer of the Year: Joshua Morris
- Lieutenant of the Year: Brian Guanch
- Unit: Fire Prevention Richard Marini, Alex Norat, Jennifer MacKinnon, Bob Burns, Jenna Turpin, Tanisha Adkins, Nicole Roth and Rose West

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, *Florida* that the Board supports the efforts of our Fire Rescue Department to publicly commend those members whose dedication, loyalty, productivity and professionalism have been recognized by their co-workers.

*Be It Further Proclaimed* that the Board of County Commissioners is grateful to all our Indian River County first responders and the valuable services they provide to the residents of our community.

Adopted this 22<sup>nd</sup> day of October 2024.

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Susan Adams, Chairman

Joseph E. Flescher, Vice-Chairman

Joseph H. Earman

Deryl Loar

Laura Moss