12A1 16-948

Condemnation, Demolition and Removal of Unsafe Structures Located at 529 20th Street S.W., 2385 11th Court S.W., 4795 32nd Avenue, and 6345 85th Street

Recommended Action: Staff recommends that the Board of County Commissioners declare the referenced structures unsafe and a nuisance and order the buildings demolished, with related debris removed from the property by a private vendor approved through standard bid procedures.

> Staff further recommends that the Board adopt the attached resolution authorizing the Building Official to report the county's demolition and debris removal cost for said structures to the County Attorney for the preparation and recording of a lien to be placed on the real property of the owners of the demolished unsafe structures for the purpose of recovering the County's demolition costs.

Attachments: Staff Report

Resolution

Condemnation List

529 20th St SW Pictures

2385 11th Ct SW Pictures

4795 32nd Av Pictures

6345 85th St Pictures

Building Official Scott McAdam, in his PowerPoint Presentation, provided an overview of the properties proposed for condemnation and demolition. He explained that there is an estate issue with regards to the property located at 6345 85th Street, owned by William C. Minnis, Sr. and William C. Minnis, Jr., and that staff would like that parcel removed from the proposed condemnation list at this time.

Ardra Rigby, 8465 69th Avenue, Wabasso, declared his interest in fixing up the property at 6345 85th Street, and asked for at least a 90-day time frame to try to bring the dwelling up to code.

Chairman Solari cautioned that restoring the property would be very costly. He preferred to have the request for additional time come from the property owner.

A motion was made by Commissioner O'Bryan, seconded by Commissioner Zorc, to approve Resolution 2016-117, as amended to exclude the William C. Minnis. Sr. and William C. Minnis, Jr. property located at 6345 85th Street from the Condemnation List, providing for the demolition of unsafe structures and the recovery of costs. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: 5 - Chairman Solari, Vice Chairman Flescher, Commissioner Davis, Commissioner O'Bryan, and Commissioner Zorc

Indian River County Florida

Page 8