Indian River County Florida

Indian River County Administration Complex 1801 27th Street, Building A Vero Beach, Florida, 32960-3388 www.ircgov.com



Solid Waste Disposal District Meeting Minutes - Draft

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Commission Chambers

Board of Commissioners

Peter O'Bryan, Chairman, District 4 Joseph H. Earman, Vice Chairman, District 3 Susan Adams, District 1 Joseph Flescher, District 2 Laura Moss, District 5

Jason E. Brown, County Administrator Dylan Reingold, County Attorney Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller Terri Collins-Lister, Deputy Clerk

B. Solid Waste Disposal District

The Board of County Commissioners reconvened as the Board of Commissioners of the Solid Waste Disposal District. The minutes will be approved at an upcoming Solid Waste Disposal District meeting.

- **15.B.1. 22-0484** Final Pay to Geosyntec for Work Order No. 12 One Year of Groundwater Monitoring/Reporting and Related Consulting Services at the Former South Gifford Road Landfill
 - **Recommended Action:** Solid Waste Disposal District staff recommends that its Board approve Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.'s final invoice amount of \$5,445.10

Attachments: Staff Report

Geosyntec Project Completion Report and Final Invoice

There was no discussion on this Item.

A motion was made by Commissioner Flescher, seconded by Commissioner Adams, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 5 Chairman O'Bryan, Vice Chairman Earman, Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Flescher, and Commissioner Moss
- **15.B.2. 22-0485** Request by Waste Management to Modify Franchise Agreement
 - **Recommended Action:** Staff is requesting that the Board approve the following: 1. Approve the request by Waste Management, Inc., of Florida to remove Article 3 (c) for the exclusive collection of C&D debris in containers 15 cubic yards and greater; 2. Authorize the County Attorney to modify the County Ordinance to effectuate the change through a duly noticed public hearing process; and, 3. Direct staff to return with an Amendment to the Franchise Agreement for Board approval at the time of the public hearing

Attachments: Staff Report

Letter by WMIF

Managing Director Himanshu Mehta spoke on the request by Waste Management (WM) to modify the franchise agreement to remove Article 3.1(c) for the exclusive collection of Construction and Demolition (C & D) debris containers fifteen cubic yards and greater in size within unincorporated Indian River County. He explained the difference between exclusive and non-exclusive treatment of C&D debris was how the franchise fee was handled by the landfill.

Director Mehta stated staff would return with an amendment to the Franchise Agreement and a modification of the County Ordinance to effectuate the change through a duly noticed public hearing process for adoption by the Board.

A motion was made by Vice Chairman Earman, seconded by Commissioner Adams, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 5 Chairman O'Bryan, Vice Chairman Earman, Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Flescher, and Commissioner Moss
- **15.B.3. 22-0493** Work Order No. 16 to Geosyntec for One Year of Groundwater Monitoring/Reporting and Related Consulting Services at the Former South Gifford Road Landfill
 - **Recommended Action:** Solid Waste Disposal District staff recommends that its Board approves and authorizes the Chairman to sign Work Order No. 16 authorizing Geosyntec to provide groundwater monitoring/reporting and related consulting services for the Former Gifford Road landfill in compliance with Florida Department of Environmental Protection requirements for a period of one year, not to exceed fee of \$80,360.14

Attachments: Staff Report

Geosyntec Work Order No 16

There was no discussion on this Item.

A motion was made by Commissioner Adams, seconded by Commissioner Flescher, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Chairman O'Bryan, Vice Chairman Earman, Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Flescher, and Commissioner Moss