PROCLAMATION

Honoring the 2021-2022 Indian River County Fire Rescue Lieutenant, Engineer and Firemedic of the Year

WHEREAS, on December 17, 1923, local volunteers established the first fire department in Indian River County; and

WHEREAS, over the course of the past century, the department transitioned from volunteer to career personnel; from a department crewed solely by trained Firefighters to today's crews who are dual certified in firefighting and emergency medical response as well as being trained in a multitude of specialized disaster response scenarios on both land and sea; and

WHEREAS, this year, the leadership of Indian River County Fire Rescue is reinstituting the long-standing tradition of annually recognizing those among their ranks who perform their duties in a manner that: exemplifies a competency reflecting the highest of standards; supports fellow Firemedics in achieving their goals; supports the department's policies and regularly demonstrates the ability to lead or follow based upon the existing circumstances; and

WHEREAS, Indian River County Fire Rescue is proud to announce the award recipients for 2021-2022:

Firemedic of the Year, Donald Burke; Engineer of the Year, Stephen Flood; and Lieutenant of the Year, Carlo Marques.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the Board supports the efforts of our Fire Rescue Department to publicly commend those members whose dedication, loyalty, productivity and professionalism have been recognized by their co-workers.

BE IT FURTHER PROCLAIMED that the Board of County Commissioners is grateful to all of our Indian River County first responders and the valuable services they provide to the residents of our community.

Adopted this 19th Day of October 2021.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Fle	escher, Chairman