Proclamation

RECOGNIZING THE WEEK OF MAY 15-21, 2022, AS NATIONAL POLICE WEEK

Whereas, in 1962, President John F. Kennedy signed a proclamation designating May 15th as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the week when that date fell as National Police Week; and

Whereas, there are more than 900,000 law enforcement officers providing vital, round-the-clock service across the United States, including the dedicated members of the Indian River County Sheriff's Office and our local municipal police departments; and

Whereas, females now constitute approximately 12% of all law enforcement officers, a number that continues to grow; and

Whereas, every day, our Nation's law enforcement officers pin on a badge and go to work, not knowing what their duty will bring but hoping to come home safely; and

Whereas, every day, we ask a great deal of these women and men, from proactively ensuring public safety to serving as front-line responders to incidents involving domestic violence, substance abuse disorders, mental health challenges, and homelessness, often with limited resources; and

Whereas, supporting our law enforcement officers requires that we invest in underfunded public systems to provide improved health care, counseling, housing, education, and other social services; and

Whereas, law enforcement agencies protect our rights, ensure accountability for misconduct, and embrace policing that reflects community values and ensures community wellbeing, for the benefit of both those who wear the badge and those who count on their protection.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida, that May 15-21, 2022, is National Police Week, and all citizens are asked to join in commemorating those police officers, past and present, who by loyal devotion to their responsibilities have rendered great service to this community and safeguarded the rights of all citizens.

Adopted this 17th day of May, 2022.	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA
	Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman
	Joseph H. Earman, Vice Chairman
	Susan Adams
	Joseph E. Flescher
	Laura Moss