## PROCLAMATION

## DESIGNATING SEPTEMBER, 2022 AS NATIONAL SUICIDE PREVENTION AWARENESS MONTH

Whereas, September is National Suicide Prevention Awareness Month, which directs the community's attention to this public health epidemic which destroys lives, whole families and sometimes entire communities; and,

*Whereas*, suicide rates on the Treasure Coast and in Okeechobee have increased significantly in the first half of 2022 according to our Medical Examiner's Office with 10 suicide deaths in Indian River County in quarter one of 2022; and,

**Whereas**, there were nearly two times as many suicides (45,979) in the United States as there were homicides (24,576); and,

Whereas, for every completed suicide in 2020, there were 26 attempts at suicide; and,

*Whereas*, suicide is the second leading cause of death for those between 10 and 34-years-old; and the fourth leading cause for those between 35 and 54-years-old; and,

Whereas, suicide is the only type of death that is 100% preventable; and by offering the public education, data, support, and services, we as a community have taken a step toward preventing another suicide by our residents; and,

Whereas, we are honored to be part of the healing process, raising awareness for and support of those affected by suicide by offering supporting services which address mental health illnesses and drug and alcohol addiction.

Now, Therefore, be it Proclaimed by the Board of County Commissioners, of Indian River County, Florida, that September, 2022, be designated as National Suicide Prevention Awareness Month in the County of Indian River, Florida and the Board asks all residents to learn how they may help, because suicide prevention is everyone's business.

Adopted this 13th day of September, 2022.

BOARD OF C

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

| Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman   |
|------------------------------|
|                              |
| Joseph Earman, Vice Chairman |
|                              |
| Susan Adams                  |
|                              |
| Joseph E. Flescher           |
|                              |
| Laura Moss                   |