PROCLAMATION HONORING TEDDY FLOYD ON HIS RETIREMENT FROM THE INDIAN RIVER COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

WHEREAS, Theodore "Teddy" Floyd, after beginning his journey in law enforcement in 1991 and serving with great distinction for thirty years, is retiring from the Sheriff's Office, effective April 30, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Teddy was employed in several different capacities over his lengthy career, including corrections and law enforcement, but spent the majority of his calling serving the citizens in a community policing function; and

WHEREAS, Teddy was a Charter Member of the Community Oriented Policing Enforcement (COPE) Unit in Indian River County in 1994 – affirming that "There is no hope without COPE" – and was among the first deputies assigned to the then newly-formed Crime Prevention Unit in 2002; and

WHEREAS, Teddy was bestowed with many commendations and honors, including Law Enforcement Employee of the Year for 1994, the Governor's Point of Light Award in 2009, TC Palm's 2006 "Inspirational Community Leader" recognition, the Exchange Club's Deputy of the Quarter Award in 2007, and entry into the 2006 Federal Congressional Record by Representative Kendrick Meek; and

WHEREAS, Teddy has been an active member of many community-based organizations, including the Progressive Civic League, our local NAACP, Habitat for Humanity, the Treasure Coast Business League, and the Gifford Youth Achievement Center, among many others; and

WHEREAS, Teddy worked with extraordinary dedication and diligence to protect and serve the citizens of Indian River County and the State of Florida, earning the appreciation of five Indian River County Sheriffs and all those who've had the honor of working with him.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the Board lauds the contributions Teddy Floyd has made to the citizens of Indian River County during his highly-successful law enforcement career, extols his mantra that one should "never look down on a man unless you're picking him up," and wishes him a happy and prosperous retirement.

Adopted this 20th day of April, 2021.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman

Peter D. O'Bryan, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph H. Earman

Laura Moss