PROCLAMATION

HONORING JOE WIGGINS

WHEREAS, Indian River County celebrates African American Pioneers who, through their service in the business, public, and elected arenas, have paved the way for this and future generations; and

WHEREAS, Joe Wiggins was born in Savannah, Georgia, on March 28, 1942, and during his youth moved with his family to the Treasure Coast, eventually settling in the Oslo area of Indian River County and graduating from Lincoln Park Academy in Fort Pierce in 1960; and

WHEREAS, Joe met his wife, Mary, in 1961, and together they raised nine wonderful children: Christopher, Alvin, Darran, Kimberly, Phylicia, James, Elijah, Gladys, and Twinetta; and

WHEREAS, Joe spent over thirty years of his professional career as a Level 3 Technician at what eventually became known as Bayer Labs in Vero Beach, and during his employment was renowned for inventing the man-portable industrial sprayer used in various applications nationwide; and

WHEREAS, Joe served his neighborhood with great dedication and tenacity as a local community organizer, culminating as president of the Oslo Concerned Citizens League, where he fought for paved streets, installation of sidewalks for pedestrian safety, and greater availability of low-income housing; and

WHEREAS, Joe always maintained his focus on future generations, recognizing the need for recreational facilities for South County children and playing a key role in the building of the Intergenerational Center and, especially, South County Park, where the ball fields are named in his honor.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the pioneer spirit and civic contributions of Joe Wiggins greatly enriched Indian River County and the Treasure Coast, and that the Board posthumously extends its sincere thanks for his extraordinary efforts in improving the lives of so many Indian River County residents

Adopted this 15th day of February, 2022.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Peter O'Bryan, Chairman

Joseph H. Earman, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph E. Flescher

Laura Moss