RESOLUTION NO. 2021-____

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA. INDIAN DIRECTING DEPOSITORIES OF COUNTY FUNDS TO HONOR CERTAIN AUTHORIZED SIGNATURES COUNTY ON CHECKS. WARRANTS, AND OTHER ORDERS FOR **PAYMENT:** PROVIDING FOR BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT SIGNATORIES; RESCINDING **RESOLUTION NO. 2020-103 WHICH SPEAKS TO AUTHORIZED** SIGNATURES ON COUNTY CHECKS, WARRANTS, AND OTHER ORDERS FOR PAYMENT; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Code section 101.02.1, on November 16, 2021, the Board of County Commissioners of Indian River County ("Board") selected Peter D. O'Bryan as Chairman from November 16, 2021, and continuing through November 22, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey R. Smith is the duly elected Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller for Indian River County ("Clerk"), and he serves as clerk and accountant to the Board, pursuant to Section 28.12, Florida Statutes (2020); and

WHEREAS, the Board has previously designated certain institutions as depositories of County funds; and

WHEREAS, the Board's selection of Chairman requires a re-designation of signatories for County warrants, checks, and other orders for the payment of money drawn on the County's depositories; and

WHEREAS, the Board has determined that the existing financial practices concerning personnel policies and employee compensation eliminate the need to require manual signatures on salary and other compensation warrants, checks, and other orders payable to Board employees; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, as follows:

- 1. Previous designations by the Board of certain institutions as official depositories of County funds are hereby ratified and affirmed.
- 2. Manual signatures shall not be required on any checks, warrants, and other orders for the payment of money drawn in the name of the Board for the purpose of salary and other compensation to or for any Board employees.

RESOLUTION NO. 2021-____

- 3. Each designated depository of County funds is hereby authorized and directed to honor checks, warrants, and other orders for payment of money drawn in the name of the Board, including those payable to the individual orders of any person/entity or persons/entities whose name or names appear thereon, when bearing both the facsimile signature of the Clerk, and the facsimile signature of the Chairman of the Board.
- 4. The manual and facsimile signatures of the herein designated officers appear on Exhibit "A" attached hereto and by this reference incorporated herein in its entirety.
- 5. The signatories named on the attached Exhibit "A" are hereby authorized to execute any and all signature cards and agreements as requested by the respective banking institutions designated as official depositories by the Board.
- 6 The use of facsimile signatures is authorized by Florida Statutes Section 116.34 (2021), the "Uniform Facsimile Signature of Public Officials Act."
- 7. The Clerk to the Board shall immediately file with the Department of State each Certificate of Facsimile Signature bearing the original manual signatures, at which point a facsimile signature of those officials signatory to Exhibit "A" of this Resolution shall have the same legal effect as a manual signature on any instrument of payment.

The Resolution was moved for adoption by Commissioner ______, and the motion was seconded by Commissioner ______, and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Chairman Peter D. O'Bryan	
Vice-Chairman Joseph H. Earman	
Commissioner Susan Adams	
Commissioner Joseph E. Flescher	
Commissioner Laura Moss	

The Chairman thereupon declared the Resolution duly passed and adopted this 7th day of December, 2021 with an effective date of December 7, 2021.

Attest: Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of Circuit Court and Comptroller BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

₿w

Deputy Clerk

By_

Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman

EXHIBIT "A"

Jeffrey R. Smith, Clerk of Circuit Court and Comptroller

Actual

Facsimile

Indian River County Board of County Commissioners Chairman Peter D. O'Bryan

Actual

Facsimile