PROCLAMATION HONORING THE PROGRESSIVE CIVIC LEAGUE OF GIFFORD FOR 60 YEARS OF SERVICE

WHEREAS, the Progressive Civic League of Gifford was established in 1961 by its co-founders, the Reverend Luther Green and Mr. J. Ralph Lundy; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend Green and Mr. Lundy would go on to serve as the Progressive Civic League's first two presidents, with Mr. Lundy notably holding office for 30 distinguished years; and

WHEREAS, the mission statement of the Progressive Civic League is "to perpetuate the ideas, philosophy, programs, and activities associated with achieving the American Dream and enhancing the quality of life for all"; and

WHEREAS, the Progressive Civic League has promoted citizen engagement as the bedrock of a thriving Gifford community and, for decades, has nurtured a strong culture of collaboration where residents, organizations, and local government value all-inclusive community decision-making; and

WHEREAS, the Progressive Civic League has offered all Gifford residents "a seat at the table" in defining and implementing public services, thereby heightening community pride, strengthening civic responsibility, and engendering feelings of equity; and

WHEREAS, in 25 years, the Progressive Civic League has awarded over 750 Eldridge A. Wheeler Scholarships to graduating high school seniors, rewarding students in financial need who have demonstrated laudable academic achievement and exemplified good citizenship.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the Progressive Civic League of Gifford has greatly enriched one of our core Indian River County communities, and that the Board extends its sincere appreciation for the League's long history of improving the lives of our citizens.

Adopted this 15th day of February, 2022.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman

Joseph H. Earman, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph E. Flescher

Laura Moss