PROCLAMATION HONORING EMMETT LANE

WHEREAS, Indian River County celebrates African American Pioneers who, through their service in the business, public, and elected arenas, have paved the way for this and future generations; and

WHEREAS, Emmett Lane, the youngest of six siblings, was born in Adel, Georgia, on September 29, 1957, and brought to the Treasure Coast at one-and-a-half years of age, graduating from Vero Beach High School in 1975, and later marrying his wife, Letha; and

WHEREAS, Emmett served as a volunteer firefighter for six years before he officially joined the South Indian River County Fire District on July 7, 1984, and continued with Indian River County Fire Rescue until the completion of his lengthy career on June 3, 2014, notably being honored as Firefighter of the Year in 1995; and

WHEREAS, Emmett, as a Gifford Community Liaison, has worked tirelessly – and frequently behind the scene – as an advocate for increased voter registration, cleaner streets, and improved upkeep and drainage within the Gifford community; and

WHEREAS, Emmett serves as a key figure in the development of the Gifford Community Culture and Resource Center and its efforts to construct a Cultural Center, including a library, studios, galleries, community meeting rooms, and an enhanced museum facility, while preserving the historic Old Macedonia Church, grave markers, trail, and existing amenities at Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Park; and

WHEREAS, Emmett further contributes to his community as a member of the Free Mason Lodge and St. Peter's Missionary Baptist Church, where amongst many ministries he provides motorcycle funeral escorts for grieving families.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the pioneer spirit and civic contributions of Emmett Lane have greatly enriched Indian River County and the Treasure Coast, and that the Board extends its sincere thanks for a lifetime of outstanding efforts on behalf of our community.

Adopted this 8th day of February, 2022.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA

Peter D. O'Bryan, Chairman

Joseph H. Earman, Vice Chairman

Susan Adams

Joseph E. Flescher

Laura Moss